It’s oh, so quiet … shhh …

Good afternoon,

It has been very quiet on my blog of late. But I am still here. I had a rest period over the festive holidays to enjoy time with my family and friends and re-focus myself. I set myself goals for the coming year – some are writing related, some are just general life – and set about in January to fulfil them. Or at least begin to.

One of my goals was to write more. This is why it has been quiet – I have been writing! I am well underway with my second novel now and I am loving the direction it has taken me. I spent ages planning it which is something I had not done in quite so much detail before. But, I had hoped it would help keep me focused – especially on those days where it is a struggle to get more than two words out, let alone hundreds and thousands as expected.

This is what my board looks like:

.

 
Planning for next book

And I am now 20k into the first draft and am  I using the board? Well, sort of. I regularly refer back to it to see where I should be going. But, I have found that now I am writing the story of these characters, they’ve got their own mind about where they want to go. So I’ve been using it as more of a guide, rather than set in stone.

I have also been doing my usual Romaniac duties, along with being a mummy, wife and trying to read when I can. So it is all a bit full on. But I will try and pop in and blog from time to time to keep you all updated on things,

I have a good feeling about 2014. I am going to work my socks off – just you see. Thanks so much for your on-going support. It really is appreciated.

Love Lucie x

2 thoughts on “It’s oh, so quiet … shhh …

  1. I alway plan my stories but never at the expense of letting the characters and the story evolve. They still take me by surprise and the story goes off piste, but that’s all part of the fun for me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

