I’m back and I’m here to stay!

Well, what a year this year has been so far. As I’m sure many other novice writers out there will agree, sometimes life seems to take over and before you know it, it has been a few months and the total number of words on your WiP has amounted to a measly, 5! (I am actually being optimistic when I say that because mine probably amounts to even less!)

This is exactly what has happened to me this last year. My home/work life took over every spare minute I used to have writing, and completely swallowed it all up. All of it. Nothing left. Well no actually, that’s a small fib. The time I did have left to write, I spent telling myself I was rubbish so why bother. I had a massive confidence crisis and slowly but surely, all my self belief drained out of my body.

As many of my friends know, I am a very strong believer in Fate, and things happening for a reason. Really, it does! Even the really really rubbish things – there’s a reason for those too. Even though at the time they may not necessarily be clear to us.

And after a few stressful months battling along the rough sea, I feel I have hit the calm. It’s very tranquil here and I have decided to pitch up and stay. Throughout the recent years that my writing has become a main factor in my life, everytime I slide away from it – be it because of family life or work – I always end up right back here. In the comfort of my little writing bubble. And I’m starting to think maybe this is it. This is where I am destined to be. Yes, I have enjoyed all the other roads I have strolled down and all the other professions I have trained in, but never am I more content than when I am in my writing bubble.

This last year I have thrown everything into trying to create a new career for myself. I set myself up to apply to University, train up, and begin my journey on a new road. But the whole time I felt like I was running against the tide. Everything that could go wrong, was going wrong. It was almost like Fate was screaming at me that it wasn’t the right road to take, but there was me, skipping along, trying to be determined and keep wading through all the toot it brought with it. But one too many things went pear shaped and it hit me – this isn’t my path.

I’m sure Fate did a victory dance when I cancelled my application. ‘Hallelujah! The woman’s finally listened, stubborn cow!’

So here I am, back at my trusty keyboard and I feel great. My self belief isn’t quite up to par yet and my confidence is still dragging its feet behind me, but I’m here and I’m writing. And I’m here to stay. I love my book, I think it has huge potential and I just need to believe in it and get it done. I have an incredible amount of support from so many people, both in the writing industry and out, and I am so very grateful for each and every one of you who take the time to encourage me and show your support.

Thank you x

28 thoughts on “I’m back and I’m here to stay!

  1. Hi Lucie,

    We must have been living through a very similar year! I blogged for the first time in ages last week. I came so close to deleting all my writing files, my writing persona and throwing my notebooks out, but like you I have decided to keep at it. Good luck and keep in touch. Mx

    Like

  2. Hello Lucie, I can empathise with a lot of what you have been through and I am so pleased you too have come out the other side, refreshed, clear of thought and ready to take on the writing task again. Very best of luck with your latest venture.

    Like

  3. Lucie, as I’ve just said to Morton, if I can do it, so can you. I got signed with Harper Impulse in July and my book is on the World Wide Web. It maybe only in eBook… but my next dream is a paperback. I still can not believe I have Harper Collins as my publisher. Keep at it, and you will get there.

    I know all about real life getting in the way, I’m still struggling to get writing back into my routine, but I know I have to now… I have a second book to deliver.

    Oh, and I’m a big believe in Fate too. You’re not alone.

    Keep writing!

    Teresa x

    Like

  4. I did wonder where you had disappeared to! Glad the aliens hadn’t stolen you and hope to see you at one of the Chelmsford meets ( tho’ I will probably only make the Christmas one this year.) it’s so easy to lose confidence as a writer, ( and the trouble is, it stops you from doing the very thing you love which is writing!) Glad you’re back in the saddle. x

    Like

  5. Okay, we’re going to have to say it .. told you so πŸ˜‰

    Lovely to have you back, although you were never far away.

    Hugs & Honks from the girls.
    xx

    Like

    • I knew you girls couldn’t resist saying it! :-p

      Seriously, though, you have all been fab with supporting me through my ‘quiet patch’ and I’m very excited to be well and truly back and fully throwing myself back into Romaniac-Land!

      Lots of love xxxx

      Like

  6. It’s great that you have overcome your demons so to speak! And it’s great that you have finally found a place where you have come to find happiness in what you do. All you can do is take one moment at a time and believe in yourself as a writer and a person. Go for it. You can do it! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

