The Next Big Thing – blog hop

Hello, it’s me! What do you mean, who? Me!

Yes, I know I have been very quiet of late, I blame it on the time of year! But I thought I’d squeeze in a last blog post of the year and seeing as I was tagged by the lovely, Charlie Cochrane, to take part in The Next Big Thing challenge I thought, why not!

You can read Charlie’s post about her book, Angel in the Window, here.

I am still in the ‘playing around’ stage of my current WiP so I thought I’d talk about my other WiP which I’m editing – yet again – and of which is my first complete full length novel. Some of you may know bits about this book from the times when I have rambled on about it.

So, here goes…

What is the working title of your book?

Head Over Heart.

It’s kind of got a double meaning for me. Firstly it is the predicament that my heroine, Sophie, is in; she must decide whether to go with her head or trust her heart. Secondly, it kind of plays on the phrase, ‘head over heels’, which is exactly how she falls for the hero.

Where did the idea for the book come from?

A dream. I actually had this dream sometime before I began writing this book, but it stuck in my mind and actually played on it. I couldn’t shake it off. I dreamt about being in a car crash. I was in the passenger side and there was a man in the drivers seat, but I didn’t know who he was. We were driving through a wooded area and the man lost control of the car and spun it off the road. And then all I remember is falling.

This man then became Robert, and I was Sophie. And Head Over Heart was born.

What genre does your book fall under?

I think it would be classed as Contemporary Romance.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie?

Anne Hathaway. Image courtesy of http://www.whitegadget.com

This is a great question as I’m quite visual when it comes to characters. I like to have people to reference to and say, ‘Oh, so and so has those qualities.’ It is quite hard to pinpoint a single person for the roles, though. I find my heroine, Sophie, quite easy to cast as I think Anne Hathaway would be perfect for the role. She’s very pretty, but not in an obvious, in your face way. A bit, girl next door. She’s quite timid, but can have a voice if need be.

My hero, James, is much harder to cast. My obvious choice would be Gerard Butler as I think he’s gorgeous and has the sexy, smoldering look down to a tee. However, I think he looks a tad too old for James. So maybe someone like, Kellun Lutz….

Kellun Lutz.
Photo courtesy of http://www.shineon-media.com

What is a one sentence synopsis of your work?

I’m not very good at one-liners! Here goes…

Dealing with grief is hard enough, without having to battle love too; the story of a young widow fighting to keep the memory of her husband in, and her love for another man out.

Will your book be self published or represented by an agency?

I don’t know. I haven’t currently got any representation for it but I would like to think that one day I will. I am working on another edit of the MS at the moment and will re-submit to agents and publishers hopefully next year. Failing that, I may consider self publishing in the future but it’s not right for me at this moment in time.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Just the first draft? About a year, I think. I’m hoping that will speed up as I practice more!

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

That’s a hard one. Erica James writes about everyday life and how it impacts love so I would say I was similar in content to her books.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I was inspired to start writing this book after seeing a clairvoyant.  I had been thinking about starting writing for a while but never actually did anything about it. Then I went to a Clairvoyant reading at a friends pub and the lady said to me, ‘something you have been thinking about doing, do it! You’ll be good at it.’

She didn’t say anything about writing or books, but that’s what I interpreted from it and so the very next day I signed up with the London School of Journalism on a Novel writing course and my first novel was born.

What else about your book may interest the reader?

The story not only speaks of the love between the hero and heroine, but of the love between the heroine and her late husband and the strong family bond with her children too. It is love in many forms and how they impact on one another.

There are also a couple of secondary characters who have a strong presence on the page and really make the story what it is.

After taking a break from the story, it’s nice to have spent some time delving into the world of James and Sophie again.

I now have to tag some people to keep the chain going, however this challenge has certainly been doing the rounds and I am not sure who has completed it or not. So I shall tag a few people in the hope that they will take part.

Those lucky so and so’s are:

Kathryn Eastman

Sarah Callejo

Sally Quilford

Apologies if these ladies have already completed.

5 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing – blog hop

  1. It was really interesting to hear more about your WiP, especially where the original idea came from – and I never knew that a reading by a clairvoyant had given you the push you needed to write. Thanks for tagging me, Lucie, I’ll give it a go!

    Like

  2. Hi Lucie, I loved reading your Next Big Thing post, and about how your novel came about. I was in the NWS a few years back. After many ups and downs and much editing my contemporary romance will be published in May (by MuseItUp Publishing), and my second novel in June. I’m now writing (struggling with!) my third. I really hope your novel gets published, as I loved the premise of the story and your writing style on your blog. Good luck with everything

    Like

Leave a Reply

