To Turn Full Circle Interviews – Seth Jago

Life in Devon in 1909 is hard and unforgiving, especially for young Emma Le Goff, whose mother and brother die in curious circumstances, leaving her totally alone in the world. While she grieves, her callous landlord Reuben Jago claims her home and belongings. His son Seth is deeply attracted to Emma and sympathises with her desperate need to find out what really happened, but all his attempts to help only incur his father’s wrath.

When mysterious fisherman Matthew Caunter comes to Emma’s rescue, Seth is jealous at what he sees and seeks solace in another woman. However, he finds that forgetting Emma is not as easy as he hoped. Matthew is kind and charismatic, but handsome Seth is never far from Emma’s mind. Whatever twists and turns her life takes, it seems there is always something – or someone – missing.

*****

 To Turn Full Circle is a wonderfully, well written love story about a girl called Emma Le Goff. You can read my full review of Linda’s book, here.

There are two potential heroes in this book, and over the course of the next few weeks, various blogs will be interviewing both heroes, the heroine, Emma, and Linda herself. Today, I am very pleased to host potential hero number one, Seth Jago.

Hello Seth, so lovely to have you here. How are you?

Hello, Lucie, it’s good to meet you – and thanks for inviting me along. I’m very well, thank you.

Tell us a little bit about yourself?

Tell you a little about myself? I can’t believe a woman has asked that question because aren’t men always accused of talking too much about themselves? Especially about their love of football. You’ll be pleased to know I can’t stand the game. Give me rugby any time – not that I’ve played since I left school.

It’s been said – although I’m not going to tell you by whom – that I am poor little rich boy. While I might be better off than most, I’m not little at just over 6 feet tall in my socks. I’m not skinny with it, either – I was prop forward in my school rugby team, so if you follow the game you’ll know I’m well built.

I haven’t got salt running through my veins the way my Pa and brothers have, although I don’t think I could ever live far from the sea – there’s something about the light that’s so uplifting and the promise of far off lands when I gaze at the horizon.

I like a pint – oh all right, two or three pints – as well as the next man. You could call me a traitor to my sex in that I’ve only ever been drunk once in my life, but I’m in no hurry to experience the hangover I had afterwards ever again, thank you very much.

I love Emma Le Goff more than life itself, but then I expect you’ve guessed that.

 What are your ambitions in life? Where do you want to be in five years time?

My ambitions for life? That’s a tough one. I was never encouraged to think beyond a career centred around fishing which is what generations of both sides of my family have done and I’ve gone with the flow of that. But I would like to find something I really want to do and could make a living at. I was always good at art at school – always top of the class in the subject – and there’s always been this little niggle at the back of my mind that I ought to pursue that talent. But don’t spill the beans to Emma, will you? – because I haven’t told her about my artistic ambitions yet. I want to surprise her. Paint her. She’d be a wonderful subject if she could sit still long enough.

Where do I want to be in five years time? I’ve never thought that far ahead before in my life. But one place I don’t want to be is in fishing, that’s for certain.Canada appeals – there are some fantastic views there to paint, I should think. Oh yes….it’s coming to me now. A log cabin inCanadawith Emma and two or three children – that will do nicely.

 You have a little bit of a bumpy relationship with your father and your brothers, has it always been like this? Do you wish things could be different?

A bumpy relationship with my Pa and brothers is an understatement if ever there was one! Carter and Miles are quite a bit older than I am – I was an afterthought, I suppose. They’ve called me Mummy’s boy (when they weren’t beating me up) for as long as I can remember but I don’t know where they get that idea from because I was only seven when my Ma died so I’ve hardly been molly-coddled. I think, after my Ma had her accident falling down the cellar steps, that I was a liability to my Pa that he didn’t know what to do with. It was left to dear old Mrs. Drew to be a surrogate parent for the hours she was in the house cleaning. No violins, please – I’m a man and men don’t dwell on the emotional stuff too much.

Do I wish it had been different? Is the Pope a Roman Catholic? But I’m wise enough to realise that our experiences – and how we deal with them – shape us; our pasts inform our futures.

 You are good friends with Emma Le Goff, describe her to us in your own words?

Describe Emma Le Goff? I’m not sure if you mean physically here, or her character, or both. And I’m not sure I’m the right man to be asking because loving her as I do I’m biased somewhat! So, I’ll start with her looks. She’s about 5 feet 6 inches tall I’d say, although I’ve never asked because we don’t spend our time asking one another questions like that. She’s tall enough that I don’t get a crick in my neck kissing her anyway. Her hair’s conker-coloured with gingery bits in – not carroty red ginger, but …oh heck, men find all this sort of thing so hard to do. She’s got dark brown eyes – the colour of brown boot polish. I know, I know …that’s not a very romantic description but if you’ve ever bought brown boot polish you’ll know exactly the colour I mean. Emma’s slender, but she goes in and out in all the right places, if you understand me. She’s funny and she makes me laugh out loud with the outrageous and irreverent thinks she says sometimes. She’s ambitious, too. God help the man or woman who gets in the way of her running her own business – I’m certainly not going to and will help her all I can. Emma will make a success of it if anyone can. She seems to court trouble, though. I’m not saying she goes looking for it – she doesn’t – but it seems to find her somehow. Life’s never going to be dull with Emma around, that’s for sure – and I want to be part of that.

What did you think of Matthew Caunter when he first arrived in town?

It’s not so much what I thought of Matthew Caunter the first time I met him, but what I wanted to do to him – put him on the first boat out again with a one-way ticket. He was very sure of himself – able to stand up to my Pa in a way I hadn’t learned how to at that point. I suppose the short answer is jealous – green as grass jealous. But I got over it!

 Crystal Cove is a special place for you, isn’t it? What makes it so beautiful? Do you have any other favourite places around where you live?

Crystal Cove is an amazing place and I’m not giving you the exact location. Neither will you find it on a map because Crystal Cove’s the locals’ name for it. It’s a place best seen as the sun rises because the cliff has a seam of quartz crystal in it and when the low sun catches it, it glows. There’s hardly a view around here that isn’t stunning but none of them will ever be as dear to me as Crystal Cove because that was the first time Emma and I ever……well, best censor that bit, eh?

Do you think you will ever be able to travel on the boats without getting sick? Is it something you would consider to try and overcome or do you prefer your feet firmly on dry land?

Ah yes – me and seasickness. I’m fine with heights – I once climbed onto the church roof to rescue the Vicar’s cat and I didn’t feel giddy at all. And I have no qualms about going into mines – we went to a tin mine inCornwallon a school trip and I loved it, which is more than the rest of the class did. I love looking at the sea – it’s just being on it and what it does to my insides that’s the problem. My friend, Olly, thinks it’s a huge joke that I come from a long line of fishermen on both sides of my family but never go to sea. I’ve been known to be sick standing on the pontoon in the harbour. So, it’s dry land for me.

I think I know what you’re getting at with this question –Canada’s the other side of a very big ocean and only accessible by boat. And I would like to go there very much, so if you’ll forgive the pun, Lucie, I’ll cross that ocean when I have to.

Thank you for talking to me today, Seth, it really has been a pleasure.

I’ve enjoyed my time with you, too, but I’m going to have to go now. Emma said she was experimenting with a new tart filling and you know what they say – the way to a man’s heart and all that….

****

 To Turn Full Circle is out now on Kindle and the paperback can  be pre-ordered on Amazon, here.

*****

Linda and those lovely people over at ChocLit are offering a prize in the form of a box of Devonshire Fudge. All commentors on this post will be automatically entered into the draw to be in with a chance to win those delicious fudges.

Here is where Linda and her characters will be over the coming weeks:

Monday 14th May – Hero: Seth – Lucie Wheeler

Monday 21st May – Hero: Matthew – Book Babe

Monday 28th May – Heroine: Emma – Jera’s Jamboree

Thursday 31st May – Author: Linda Mitchelmore – Novelicious

Thursday 7th June – Author’s Corner – ChocLit Blog – PUBLICATION DAY!

*****

Linda has had just over 200 short stories published worldwide. She has also won, or been short-listed in, many short story writing competitions – Woman’s Own, Woman & Home, and Writespace to name but three. In 2004, Linda was awarded The Katie Fforde Bursary by the Romantic Novelists’ Association, and has a story in their 50th Anniversary Anthology, ‘Loves Me, Loves Me Not’. Linda also won Short Story Radio Romance Prize 2010. Having started her writing career doing a short story course with Writing Magazine, she has now come full circle and is a preliminary judge for their short story competitions.

*****

10 thoughts on “To Turn Full Circle Interviews – Seth Jago

  1. An artistic ex-rugby player? Why, hello Seth! Um, look, if things don’t work out with Emma, I’d be happy to hold your brushes. I love the character interviews – they’re such fun! 😀

    Like

  2. I would just like to say that, yes, the Pope is a Catholic and bears do s*** in the woods. Glad that’s cleared up, Seth. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

