Kate Johnson’s blog tour – Run Rabbit Run

 

Sophie’s in trouble. Must be Tuesday.

Sophie Green’s an ex-spy, or trying to be. You wouldn’t believe the trouble she’s in. An MI5 officer has been shot with her gun, her fingerprints all over his office. And no, she didn’t kill him. But she has gone on the run. Now Sophie’s desperately seeking whoever’s trying to frame and kill her. She’s being forced to work with the least trustworthy man in Europe, MI5 is following her every move, and she’s had to leave the tall, blond, god of a man she loves behind.

Luke Sharpe works for MI6. Or did, until his girlfriend became a murder suspect. Doing nothing wasn’t an option, so he started investigating. Who cares if it means jeopardising his career? Sophie’s everything he used to say he never wanted. Young, irresponsible, bright and mad. Now she’s just everything – and she has to live.

 She will live, won’t she?

*********

The lovely Kate Johnson has stopped by my blog today for a little Q&A session with me about her new book. Here is what she had to say:

Hi Kate. Thanks so much for dropping by on your blog tour, it’s lovely to have you. Hope you are well?

Hi Lucie, it’s great to be here. I’m getting rather excited about the imminent arrival of two special babies at Easter: not only is my first niece/nephew due to be born, but also, of course, Run Rabbit Run!

Oh, congratulations on both counts! Run Rabbit Run is your next book out with ChocLit. Where did the initial idea for the Sophie Green mysteries come from? How many books do you have planned for the series?

I seem to recall sitting in a cinema an unfeasibly long time ago with my best friend, watching the trailers (I love watching movie trailers at cinema, can’t be having with them on a DVD!) and an advert for the first Johnny English film came on. It had the tagline “He knows no fear. He knows no danger. He knows nothing,” and I commented idly, “That’s what I’d be like if I was a spy.” My friend replied, equally idly, “You should write a book about that.”

I honestly can’t tell you which film we saw that day. I spent the entirety of it thinking about this young, blonde, accident-prone spy. By the time I sat down to write this character of Sophie had definitely bullied her way to the front of my imagination. Except that, if I recall correctly, she was originally called Sally. Funny how that just doesn’t work at all, isn’t it?

What kind of research went into planning this book in particular? Do you enjoy the researching part of writing a book?

I actually wrote the first draft of this book years ago. At the time, I’d recently finished working at Stansted Airport (which is the job Sophie had before she became a spy) and remembered a lot of the technical info from it, which is just as well as if I hadn’t put it in that first draft I’d never remember it now! Updating it took a bit more time, and I have to say if the security services are reading this, then all the search history on my browser is research, okay? That’s why I want to know if you can evade facial recognition technology. It’s for the book. Honest.

How much of yourself do you put into your heroines? Are you more like Eve or Sophie?

Well, from the above you’d probably infer I’m more like Sophie! But that was really just a starting point, to take a girl of my sort of background and throw her into these ludicrous situations. But after all she’s been through, Sophie has evolved into a person who’s not all that much like me any more. She was always a lot braver, and a bit cooler too, but after all the murders and gunfights and car chases and fighting for her life, she’s a lot harder than me too. As for Eve, well her life has been pretty different from mine too (I will categorically state I’ve never been on stage in lime green hotpants. Although I did do a friend’s music video in a very tight pink dress) but I suppose you can’t help but put a bit of yourself into a character, even if you don’t realise it. What Eve gets from me is probably my argumentativeness!

******

Let’s have a little quick fire round:

1/ You are stuck on a desert island and can only pick one thing from each category, what do you take:

*Drink – Margarita. Three tequila, two lime, one triple sec, shake it over ice and don’t forget to salt the rim.

*Food – You know what, I’ve got an obsession with crisps at the moment. It’s not helping my waistline.

*Person – Now, who’s going to be surprised if I say Richard Armitage?

*object- My iPad. Is that really shallow?

2/ Kiss, marry, avoid – David Tennent, Hugh Jackman, Richard Armitage?

What? That’s impossible! I want to kiss and marry all of them, and avoid none! All right then…er, I think Hugh  is already married, so I’ll avoid him cos I don’t want to get into a fight with his Sheila; kiss Richard (can I do a bit more than that?); but for day-to-day life, I reckon the most fun to be around, the most entertaining, and certainly the one kids would adore the most, I think I’d have to marry David Tennant.

3/ Heels or flats? Oh, don’t be mean, I can’t chose! I love my heels, but I couldn’t wear them all day. My favourite footwear is actually my really old, beaten-up brown biker boots. I love them so much I’ve got a spare pair for when these finally die.

4/ Sex or chocolate? Well, sex doesn’t make you fat…but you can always get chocolate from the corner shop. It’s consistently more reliable.

5/ Red, white or rose? Rose in summer, white if it’s chilled and crisp, otherwise red.

6/ Car or motorbike? Mine’s an Aston Martin.

********

Rabbit Run is out as an e-book now and is released as paperback on 7th April 2012. Pre-order your copy here.

You can also buy Kate’s first book with ChocLit, The UnTied Kingdom, here.

******

Kate Johnson writes romance novels, both contemporary and paranormal, for ChocLit. She also writes erotic romance novels under her smuttier alter ego, Cat Marsters. She lives in Essex with her pride of cats and her ever growing love for Richard Armitage. She can be found on Facebook and Twitter and also has a blog and a website.

******

Kate’s blog tour continues. Here is a list of where she has been and when she is set to visit next:

Monday 5th March  – Sharon Goodwin at Jera’s Jamboree – www.jerasjamboree.wordpress.com

Monday 12th March – Kath Eastman at The Nutpress – www.nutpress.co.uk

Monday 19th March – Catherine Miller at Katy Little Lady – www.katylittlelady.com

Monday 26th March – Tara Chevrestt at Book Babe – www.bookbabe.blogspot.com

Monday 2nd April – Lucie Wheeler at Lucie Wheeler – www.luciewheeler.wordpress.com

Saturday 7th April – Author’s Blog at Choc Lit website – www.blog.choc-lit.co.uk

******

Kate and the lovely ChocLit team are offering a prize in the shape of a 200g Lindt chocolate bunny to one lucky person picked at random. All we want you to do is tell us what YOU would take to a desert island from the following categorys:

Food, Drink, Object & Person

Good luck! And thanks to ChocLit and Kate

6 thoughts on “Kate Johnson’s blog tour – Run Rabbit Run

  1. Great interview, ladies. Always nice to know character backgrounds. Love how the idea for the storyline for Run Rabbit Run came about too. The desert island quick fire round prompted some interesting answers. I don’t think I’ve ever tried a Margarita, but now I have Kate’s magic ingredients… 😉

    As for my choices to take to a desert island. Hmmm… Drink – would have to be a decent bottle of merlot (oops, did I say bottle?!) Food – would be chocolate – any size or shape (wins hands down!) Person – Well, I’d have to say Mr B really, wouldn’t I? but if I was single, Rupert Penry-Jones. Object – definitely a pad & pen (oh, hang on, that’s two – am I allowed?) because when I’m not writing, I’m doodling.

    Good luck with Run Rabbit Run, Kate, and all best wishes for the imminent arrival of little niece/nephew .

    Great blog post, Lucie 🙂 x x

    Like

  2. (Just smiling at Jan, and her having to mention her, Rupert Penry-Jones again! :P)

    Splendid interview, ladies. It’s great to hear some of the background, and good luck to Kate with your blog tour and the launch of Run Rabbit Run.

    I can’t think of anything better than being stuck on a desert island at this moment in time 😉
    As long as I’d have a supply of chocolate with me, red wine to drink, my trustee laptop (hoping there’s electricity on the island) and (sorry to be so predictable but) Gary Barlow again. He’s gorgeous and can sing to me in the evenings.

    xx
    PS – If Gary’s not free, I’ll settle for sharing David Tennent with Kate. He’s not only gorgeous, but appears to be great fun and a genuine chap!

    Like

  3. Loved the Run Rabbit Run interview – not read the book yet but just about to order it after this.
    Ok – drink; Veuve Cliquot (if there’s a fridge, which of course there will be, because we’ll have electricity for mine and Debbie’s laptops) and I’ll drink it with Michael Palin, because he will have just discovered the island on his travels and he’s the over 50s crumpet of choice, and we’d eat lots of oysters to go with the champagne, and my object would be, of course, the laptop.

    Thanks Lucie and Kate,

    Celia x

    Like

  4. This is very confusing, my comment disappeared. I’ll try posting again. Sorry, if I post twice! 🙂

    My list of TBRs is growing longer and longer! I’m going to have to read RRR!
    Let’s see, chocolate, red wine, a lap top and a kindle, and Mr. Darcy! 😀
    Thanks!

    Like

  5. Really looking forward to reading Run Rabbit Run! I’d have to take along:

    Food: It would be an all you can eat buffet.
    Drink: An Open Bar
    Person: My husband. Not that many people get me. I might as well take the guy who’s been successful in that challenge.
    Object: A cuddly toy. That way, at least one person on the island will have a smile. The rest of you will all be looking at your blank screens and wondering why you didn’t bring solar panal chargers 😉

    Enjoy your Easter weekend everyone and good luck with the launch, Kate! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

