Anybody know what this is?

A bit of a random, non writerly post, but I’m quite interested to see if anyone can shed some light on this for me.

A few weeks before my wedding, the tops of my thighs began to itch. There wasn’t anything visable and I hadn’t changed my diet, washing powder or anything else that I could think of. I thought nothing of it.

Two weeks before the wedding, my legs looked like this.

A few days later, it had developed into this

As I said, I had not changed anything or used anything different. I went to doctors and he said he wasn’t sure what it was so gave me steroid cream and told me to take Piriton. So I did. for 7 days, and by my wedding day, it looked like this.

So, two days after my wedding I went back to the doctors and saw a different doctor. He said it looked like I was reacting to something and having an allergic reaction. But neither he, nor I, could work out what. But what upset me was that he said there was nothing he could do for me, and that as long as I’m still using/eating/touching whatever it is I was reacting to, it would not change. So I asked if I could have an allergy test as I really didn’t have any idea what was causing my reaction, and he told me no.

Two days after that, it began to improve and here it is two weeks after the wedding

As you can see, it has practically disappeared with just a few marks left. The big mark on my right leg still itches occasionally, but is much better.

Is it possible that this was due to wedding stress? I’ve never had stress take its toll on my body so dramatically. I suffer with coldsores, so whenever I’m stressed or run down, I get a sore (Which I actually got for my wedding day too!)

It just seemed strange that as soon as the wedding was finished, within days it had improved so much.

What do you think?

4 thoughts on “Anybody know what this is?

  1. Lucie, I am sorry you had this. Stress does bring a lot of things out in your body, in different ways. We are packing up boxes to move house and I developed a really horrible cough 1 1/2 months ago and two lots of antibiotics later I am still coughing as still packing. I am hoping after 29th Sept when we have moved, I will recover. Despite the rash I really hope you had a lovely wedding. Congratulations and finger crossed everything clears up soon.

    Like

  2. Sorry for the delay in replying everyone!Sylv: Thank you for your message. It seems to be under control now so must be the stress. I hope your cough disappears sharpish when you move. Good luck with the packing! :-)Debs: Oooh 8 times! Poor you. Hopefully you wont get it again. xLindyLouMac: Yes I believe it must've been. Funny how nerves and stress affect our bodies, isn't it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

