The best day of my life – My Wedding Day

Rowton Castle 
When I was a little girl, I always dreamed of being a princess,
When I was 16 I met Craig,
When I was 25, he made that dream come true……

April 2003:

I met Craig when I was 16. I was studying performing arts at college and he was a hard working 18 year old. We had a mutual friend in common and soon began dating. I was really into dancing and convinced I was going to become a dance teacher and after being together for 18 months, I was offered my place at university. Suddenly, becoming a dancer wasn’t my priority anymore. I had a boyfriend who I loved so much and I didnt want to go off to uni and only see him weekends, I wanted to stay at home and move our life forward together, as a couple. So I listened to my heart and took the plunge, cancelling my place and getting a full time job.
The following year we moved in together and a little over a year after that, in 2006, our beautiful daughter was born. My life was complete.

October 2010:

As cliche as it sounds, I always knew Craig was the right man for me. I knew I wanted to marry him, and finally, 7 1/2 years down the line, he proposed. You can read about the proposal here.

August 2011:

So here we are, 11 months later, on our wedding day. It was the most magical day of my life, and I owe it all to my new husband. He works so incredibly hard, day in, day out, and he gave me the fairytale wedding that I always dreamed of.

Saturday 13th August 2011

The morning:
The morning of my wedding was a strange feeling. I had been waiting for this moment my whole life and it was finally here. I stayed in Rowton Barns the night before, with my maid of honour, my daughter and some of the wedding party. Craig also stayed there, but in a different room. He then left in the morning to have breakfast elsewhere so we didnt cross paths. I remember waking up at 5:30am thinking, ‘wow, I am actually getting married today.’
I managed to eat some of my breakfast and then began the transformation….

Very big hair and a nervous smile

Make up time

At 11:30am, my bridesmaids and I turned up at Rowton Castle and made our way up to the bridal suite – in our pyjama’s! We spent the next few hours getting ready and taking in our surroundings, with some Champagne, of course!

The afternoon:
I didnt have time for the nerves to kick in. We ended up rushing about at the last minute, which was ludicrous as we had started getting ready about 9am, and at 2pm, the time I was supposed to be walking down the aisle, I was still hopping into my dress whilst my bridesmaids were trying to put on my garter (my something blue & new) attaching a broach to my petticoat (something old) and slipping a penny from the year I met Craig (2003) into my shoe (something borrowed) all at once!

My maid of honour and I walking down the aisle

Finally, at 2:20pm, I walked down the aisle, with my maid of honour, to the beautiful sound of the Nero String Quartet playing Pachebel – Canon.
After some much needed Pimms, photographs and canapes, we made our way inside for dinner. I was still unable to eat much, but I made sure I tried it all and it was all delicious.

Craig’s Speech

Next came the speeches. My amazing maid of honour, Kayleigh, really did herself proud and delivered a lovely insight to our longstanding friendship of over 20 years. She has been there for me through thick and thin and she did a fantastic job, both in the run up to the wedding, and on the day.

Craig’s speech was next and turned out to be quite an emotional one. I had proofed some of his speech a few days before, and so was very surprised when i heard it as he had changed it! He said lovely words about me, his dad and our daughter, and threw in some funny remarks for some laughs, too! I would like to say, for the record, to those that were there – I am not as bad a cook as he makes out, honest! 🙂

The evening:

First dance

The evening made way for the party. Our wonderful DJ put on a great show and did his best to play all the requests by everyone, even the most random ones! He liasied with Craig and I numerous times throughout the evening, making sure we were happy with how it was going, and asking how we wanted to do things. He really did make it a party to remember. At 9pm, we had our first dance to Adele – Make You Feel my Love. I was so nervous, but it was lovely and a great opportunity for Craig and I to have a moment to ourselves. Our daughter joined us for the last little bit which made it perfect.

And as they say, the rest is history…..

I want to say a huge thank you to Craig’s family, who really welcomed me into the family, from day one, and on Saturday made it special. A big thank you to my beautiful bridesmaids, Emma, Emma and Lisa who were fantastic, and my maid of honour, Kayleigh. Thank you to my daughter just for being so amazing and behaving all day.

And thank you to my husband, Craig, for making all my dreams come true.

My friends, Tarnya & Tara, from my college days

Carrying me over the threshold
The Three Degree’s….I mean, my beautiful bridesmaids & Maid of Honor
The lovely Sue Moorcroft and I
One of our final pictures of the night
13 thoughts on “The best day of my life – My Wedding Day

Leave a Reply

