Deadlines & ROMNA

Hello everyone.

It’s been a while, I know! I have been spending the last week or so, trying to blitz out the last workings of my revised edit. I work quite well to personal deadlines and targets so I set myself a deadline to finish this edit by Sunday evening, so I could mail it out on Monday morning for its second appraisal. And I took this deadline very seriously. So seriously, in fact, that after a lovely meal out last night with a friend, I came home (at 11:30pm) and powered up the computer for a couple of hours work before bed.

However, it has all gone to pot. Starting with yesterday morning, me deciding to delete 4k words, just like that. Just highlighted it all, and then pressed ‘DEL’. (I’m not quite that brave, I save the words in another word document called ‘outtakes’ first!)
The scene that got the chop needed to go. I knew it needed to go, but I haven’t had the guts to delete it. After ‘umming’ and ‘ahhhing’ all week, yesterday I took the plunge and deleted. So, I now need to re-jiggle some aspects of the story to work through the gap. So this was the first thing that I knew would possibly set back my personal deadline, but, I thought it was possible so I carried on and grabbed whatever writing time I could yesterday.
I normally write in the mornings when LO is at school, but today, LO is poorly. After a visit to the doctors, they confirmed she has a chest infection. She is not at all herself and is very clingy. Which is lovely for cuddles and snuggling, but not so good for writing and housework! (I am actually having to write some of this one handed as she wont let my other one go) She is even refusing food, which is totally out of character for her. Anyone who know’s my daughter, knows that she eats and eats and eats, not that you can tell from looking at her. She has even been known, on more than one occasion, to tell me she is still hungry whilst still chewing on food! So, when she refused food today, I knew she was very poorly. She says her throat hurts too much, so I have been giving her jelly, ice cream and yoghurts, just to get some food in her.( she wont eat soup!)
So, my writing session this morning didn’t happen, and Im not sure how the next few days will go. Depends on how quickly the antibiotics work. So my deadline, regrettably, will have to be pushed back a little….again.

Ive also joined Romna, which is an online forum/group for people who are in the RNA. I have been a member of Romna for about a day now, and I am overwhelmed by the amount of welcome messages I have received. Everybody is so friendly and I can see already, from reading other posts, that the online support on there is huge. I can see that people are genuinely there to help and it is so nice to see. I have discovered that the nearest Chapter meeting to me is in Chelmsford, with one in Cambridge being the next closest. I look forward to hopefully making it to a meeting soon and making some writer friends in my area. Being a writer is a rewarding and very enjoyable job, but it is also very lonely. I drop LO off to school, and as I watch other mothers go off to eachother’s houses, or into town, or off to work etc, I drive home and sit infront of my computer for 2.5 hours. And then, in the evenings, whenever I can I write.(And I only write p/t at the moment as LO isn’t at f/t school yet. There are writers out there who write all day, without any outside interaction) So, It is nice to know there are others so close to me.

One of the things I am most looking forward to, now that I am a member of the RNA, is meeting writers from all over. Although, I do have a slight problem. The main meetings in London, I can’t make a lot of them as they start mid-afternoon, as far as I am aware, and so I have LO. The annual conference, which takes place in Wales this year, is the same weekend as my hen weekend! (Which ironically, is also in Wales! I shall be so close, yet so far) and the Winter party is on my daughters birthday! So, with all of that, I will find it difficult to get to meetings etc. But, when there is a will, there is a way – I will try and see what I can do to make it to at least a couple of things.

I am going to Get Writing on the 19th which will be a fantastic way to meet some writers/editors/publishers etc. My friend has kindly said she will come with me for moral support as I will only ‘know’ a handful of people there, and I am a little nervous. But very excited!

So, that’s how I will play this next week. See how the weekend goes with LO, see if I can nab any writing time and then aim to complete by the end of next week.

Hopefully I’ll be hitting the deadline this time, instead of extending it!

Leave a Reply

